top of page
  • andyjamescreative

Going to a Convention by Yourself

If you're anything like me, the idea of going to a pop-culture convention is just so exciting! But if you're also like me, you might not have any friends (at least locally) that are interested in the same stuff and would want to go with you.


It might sound scary heading off to a big convention centre all by yourself, but I promise that it is SO worth it!

Recently I attended Brisbane Supanova, which was the second convention I've been to by myself and I had a really awesome time!


Of course, it can be a lot of fun going to cons with friends or family, but it's definitely not the only option. I find going by myself gives me the freedom to do and see whatever I like without having to cater to other peoples preferences, for example I only go watch the panels I want to watch, and I can spend an hour in line waiting for Scooby Doo's autograph without feeling like I'm wasting anybody's time!






I had so much time to meet new people as well, which is always one of my goals of attending cons. I hung around the artist stalls making conversation with some of the quieter booths, and got to know the backgrounds of some of the awesome creative minds!


I also happen to have a fair amount of online aquaintances which I got the chance to meet or catch up with in person! One person even recognised me from TikTok which was kind of crazy. But meeting these people that I've known through a screen for the first time absolutely brings a feeling of being around friends at a con.


There is obviously some downsides to going alone of course, like if you're an extravagant cosplayer like I tend to be, not having someone to carry your bag or help you through crowds can be rough but there is workarounds for that too! With my Megamind cosplay that is quite bulky, I took a little grandma trolley with me instead of a backpack. This worked super well because I was able to carry everything I need without taking anything away from my costume, and I was able to just set the trolley aside if anybody wanted pictures.





If you are considering going to a con but have no one to go with, or you just want to try it out on your own, I highly recommend it! It's an awesome chance to get to know new people and really explore the entire convention for what it has to offer. While I do hope in the future I might have a friend or two to take with me, it definitley won't stop me from going, and I hope that it won't stop you either.




41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page